Negotiation Instructors

AUTM Annual Meeting

Negotiation Course Instructors

Alan Bentley has served as the director of Vanderbilt University’s Center for Technology Transfer and Commercialization since 2011. Previous technology transfer experience includes directing the licensing operations at the Cleveland Clinic and the University of Virginia Patent Foundation. He is active in several professional societies, and serves on a number of corporate and community boards. Alan has been a registered U.S. Patent Agent since 1999, and is a Certified Licensing Professional.

Hina Mehta is the Director, Office of Technology Transfer at George Mason University. In this role, Hina oversees all aspects of bringing university-initiated innovations to the marketplace. She is responsible for developing strategies for marketing, licensing and commercialization of intellectual property developed by university investigators. At Mason, she mentors faculty led teams in NSF funded entrepreneurship programs such as I-Corps. She brings together industry experts to assess the portfolio of multi-disciplinary inventions and facilitates seed funding through intramural mechanisms. Her previous experience includes biomedical research, strategic consulting and co-founding a startup. Hina is passionate about community service, and devotes her free time to three nonprofit organizations and serves as an advisor and mental health ambassador for DHHS, Montgomery County, MD. She is a recipient of Maryland Governor’s citation and Volunteer Excellence Service Award. She holds a PhD in Neuroscience from Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, India and an MBA from Robert H. Smith School of Business, Univ. of Maryland.

Brian Shedd is Executive Director for the newly formed Office of Innovation and Commercialization at UT Permian Basin. He supports all of the faculty, staff, and students at UTPB in their innovation and research commercialization goals as well as interfacing with the external business community to develop partnerships, collaborations, and form new companies. The office also runs the UTPB Incubator and the future Makerspace which will have leasable space for companies and facilities for prototype manufacturing.

Brian comes to UTPB after having been the Director of Technology Commercialization at the University of Houston for the past 3 years. Prior to that he worked in technology transfer roles at LSU and UCLA. He founded and ran a private consulting company focused on the nexus between university technology transfer and small business. Brian earned MS and PhD degrees from UCLA in Mechanical Engineering, and BS In Mechanical Engineering from University of Colorado, and a BA in Physical Science from Southwestern University.

Ursula Vosylius is the Executive Director, Alliance Management at Kite Pharma.




Ray Wheatley retired in August 2015 as Director for Technology Commercialization in the Office for Technology Development at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center with 31 years of service. He has worked with US and foreign companies, including major pharmaceutical companies, venture capital firms and leading medical device manufacturers. After retiring, he joined APIOiX, LLC, as Director and now consults in a variety of technology transfer-related areas. He also and develops and presents educational programs. He is regularly invited to speak on various topics at many national and international meetings, specializing negotiation skills and advanced licensing topics. Ray has a BS degree in biochemistry from the University of Illinois and an MS degree in healthcare administration from Texas Women’s University. He is an emeritus member of AUTM, who has awarded him with the President’s Award and the Volunteer Service Award.

Annual Meeting Sponsors

Parker Highlander PLLC
Amster, Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
Osage University Partners
Blank Rome LLP
Casimir Jones, SC
Computer Packages, Inc.
Royalty Pharma
Schwegman Lundberg & Woessner
Quarles & Brady LLP
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Marshall Gerstein
Bereskin & Parr LLP
Baker Donelson
Thomas Horstemeyer LLP
DRI Capital
KISSPlatform Europe BV