AUTM Managing Influences in Negotiations Course Instructors

AUTM Annual Meeting

AUTM Managing Influences in Negotiations Course Instructors

Alan Bentley has served as the director of Vanderbilt University’s Center for Technology Transfer and Commercialization since 2011.  Previous technology transfer experience includes directing the licensing operations at the Cleveland Clinic and the University of Virginia Patent Foundation.  He is active in several professional societies, and serves on a number of corporate and community boards.  Alan has been a registered U.S. Patent Agent since 1999, and is a Certified Licensing Professional.   

Brian Shedd, PhD, is currently the Interim Executive Director for the University of Houston Office of Technology Transfer and Innovation, where he previously served as the Director of Licensing. Prior to UH, he founded Precision Technology Consulting, a freelance consulting company providing technology commercialization assistance to companies and research institutions. He has also worked in university technology transfer roles at UCLA and LSU. He received his MS and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from UCLA. Brian is a native of Baton Rouge, Louisiana but has lived and worked across the US and internationally.

Ray Wheatley, MS, CLP retired in August 2015 as Director for Technology Commercialization in the Office for Technology Development at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center with 31 years of service. He has worked with US and foreign companies, including major pharmaceutical companies, venture capital firms and leading medical device manufacturers.  After retiring, he joined APIOiX, LLC, as Director and now consults in a variety of technology transfer-related areas. He also and develops and presents educational programs. He is regularly invited to speak on various topics at many national and international meetings, specializing negotiation skills and advanced licensing topics. Ray has a BS degree in biochemistry from the University of Illinois and an MS degree in healthcare administration from Texas Women’s University.  He is an emeritus member of AUTM, who has awarded him with the President’s Award and the Volunteer Service Award.

Annual Meeting Sponsors

Elanco Animal Health
Osage University Partners
Amster, Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
Burford Capital
Parker Highlander PLLC
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Ventech Solutions Inc.
Pfizer Inc
Marshall Gerstein
Michael Best & Friedrich
Polsinelli PC
CSL Behring
Bereskin & Parr LLP
Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research
Hamilton Brook Smith Reynolds
Eli Lilly and Company
BCC Research
Schwegman Lundberg & Woessner
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Blank Rome LLP
Aird & McBurney LP
Baker Donelson
Casimir Jones, SC
Royalty Pharma
Smith, Gambrell & Russell
Pabst Patent Group LLP
CrossPond Law
University of New Hampshire
Quarles & Brady LLP
Hodgson Russ LLP
TreMonti Consulting LLC
Licensing Executives Society