Live Streamed Session Recordings

AbbvieLillyRelay Medical
AUTM Annual Meeting

Live Streamed Sessions

Fireside Chat featuring Andrei Iancu 

View the Session Video
Join AUTM CEO Stephen Susalka for an up-close conversation with Andrei Iancu, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Iancu provides leadership and oversight to one of the largest intellectual property offices in the world, with more than 12,000 employees and an annual budget of over $3 billion. He is the principal advisor to the Secretary of Commerce on domestic and international intellectual property policy matters. Followed by an open Q&A period (and a t-shirt cannon…seriously).

VCs Talk Back – The State of Early-Stage Science-Based Venture Capital 

View the Session Video
Senior leadership from prominent VC firms (Jim Flynn, Deerfield Management; Jenna Foger, Alexandria Real Estate Equities; Carmichael Roberts, Breakthrough Energy Ventures and Material Impact; and Yoav Tzruya, Jerusalem Venture Partners) joined moderator Orin Herskowitz, from Columbia Tech Ventures, to discuss the complex intersection of venture capital and university tech transfer. This interactive, audience-driven session covered topics such as current investment hypotheses; observed best practices from tech transfer offices; the dynamic between scientific founders and CEOs; how to break into a career in venture; working with strategic industry investors; how VCs think about geography and regional economic development; “double bottom line” funds with a social mission; the role IP plays in company funding decisions; IP strategies for start-ups; and emerging experiments for forging deeper ties between VCs and universities. A fascinating session followed by an open Q&A period.

Annual Meeting Sponsors

Elanco Animal Health
Osage University Partners
Relay Medical Corp
Burford Capital
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Parker Highlander PLLC
Pfizer Inc
Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP
Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
MTI Biotech
Bereskin & Parr LLP
Schwegman Lundberg & Woessner
Hamilton Brook Smith Reynolds
Eli Lilly and Company
University of Toledo
Oblon, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt LLP
Blank Rome LLP
Aird & McBurney LP
Fish & Richardson PC
Polsinelli PC
Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt PC
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz
Pabst Patent Group LLP
CrossPond Law
Smith, Gambrell & Russell
Hodgson Russ LLP
Quarles & Brady LLP
Licensing Executives Society
Royalty Pharma
Husch Blackwell