2020 Technology Valuation Virtual Course

Schedule-at-a-Glance

September 21 – 25
9 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT / 7 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. PDT
Online Virtual Event
 
 

Day 1 – September 21

9 – 11:30 a.m. CDT Creating Value
This session focuses on creating value, providing an understanding of the licensee's business model and key success factors, the importance of the licensed intellectual property in generating value, and how these affect license terms and negotiation.

Measuring Value
This session centers on measuring value, examining key accounting assumptions, the measures and projections that quantify the financial performance of the licensee and how these are used to determine the commercial terms of the license.

Instructors:            
Steve Ferguson, National Institutes of Health 
Christopher Noble, MIT
Debbie Stewart, Invotex IP
 

Day 2 – September 22

9 – 11:30 a.m. CDT Sharing Value
This session examines the key mechanisms used to share value between the licensee and the licensor.

Start-Ups
This session explores the issues specific to licensing start-ups, including taking on equity as partial consideration for the license.

Instructors:            
Steve Ferguson, National Institutes of Health
Andrew Maas, Louisiana State University
Christopher Noble, MIT
Ashley Stevens, Focus IP Group, LLC
 

Day 3 – September 23

9 – 11:30 a.m. CDT Case Study Presentation and Discussions
Attendees will have the choice to participate in a Life Sciences or Physical Sciences case study.

Instructors:     
Steve Ferguson, National Institutes of Health
Andrew Maas, Louisiana State University
Christopher Noble, MIT
Michael Sharer, Texas A&M University 
Ashley Stevens, Focus IP Group, LLC
Debbie Stewart, Invotex IP
 

Day 4 – September 24

9 – 11:30 a.m. CDT Independent Case Study Work
Instructors will be available to groups as requested. 
 

Day 5 – September 25

9 – 11:00 a.m. CDT Case Study Presentation by Groups and Wrap-up

Instructors: 
Steve Ferguson, National Institutes of Health
Andrew Maas, Louisiana State University 
Christopher Noble, MIT
Michael Sharer, Texas A&M University 
Ashley Stevens, Focus IP Group, LLC
Debbie Stewart, Invotex IP