Canadian Award

AUTM recognizes the outstanding service these people have provided to the Canadian technology transfer community.

Congratulations to the 2024 Canadian Award Winner

Mark Weber
McGill University

Mark Weber is the Director of Innovation and Partnerships at McGill University. An alumnus of McGill, where he completed his undergraduate, Masters, and Ph.D. degrees in Chemical Engineering, Mark has spent the majority of his career at the interface of corporate R&D and university innovation. Mark worked at NOVA Chemicals for over 10 years, where he developed polyethylene products for commercial applications before leading teams in technical service and product R&D. He has also worked for engineering consulting firms and two start-ups in the fields of energy and cleantech, one as the vice president of technology and engineering. Mark has been working at McGill since 2012, originally in technology transfer. He is an inventor on multiple patents, has negotiated licenses and agreements with companies of all sizes, and been recognized for his contributions to university technology transfer in Canada.

Congratulations, Mark!

2024 Mark Weber
2023 Jennifer Fraser
2022 Odd Bres
2021 No awardee – 2020 winner recognized at 2021 Virtual Meeting
2020 Michael Szarka
2019 Kenneth W. Porter 
2018 Gina V. Funicelli 
2017 Micheline Gravel
Dan Polonenko 
2016 Sean Flanigan 
2015 Adi Treasurywala 
2014 D. Joe Irvine
2013 John P. Malloy 
2012 Tanya G. Glavicic-Théberge 
2011 Terry Donaghue
2010 David J. King 
2009 Marcel D. Mongeon 
2008 Angus Livingstone 
2007 Janet E. Scholz 
2004 Margaret Caughey 
2000 James Wolf Murray