Howard Bremer Scholarship

Supporting Those Pursuing a Career in Tech Transfer

Launched in 2002, the Howard Bremer Scholarship is an annual program that supports students and emerging professionals pursuing careers in technology transfer. Named to honor our esteemed colleague, a pioneering AUTM member and past President of the Association (1978–1979), the scholarship is awarded to those who—like Howard Bremer— wish to bring creativity and innovation to the academic technology transfer profession.

Howard's Legacy
Howard began his career working on well-known and enduring products that many of us use every day. He helped evolve and grow one of the most successful technology transfer programs in the United States—the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, and, most notably,  helped create both the Bayh-Dole Act and AUTM itself.

2023 Howard Bremer Applications are now closed.


2023 Christopher Sue
Quentin Gerard Booker
Elizabeth R. LaFave
2022 Michael Patrick Fiske 
Daniel (Dianxiong) Zou 
Fabiola Moreno 
2021 Cortney Cavanaugh
Guru Venkatesan
Jessica Trostel
Ruwaida Mohideen
Alba Marrero
2020 Chithra Krishnamurthy 
Alexandria Mullins 
Radhika Palkar 
Krishna Patel 
Elizabeth Sheckler
2019 Kyle Bartholomew
Bayode Ero-Phillips
Prabhpreet Gill
Rosemary Kiser
Meagan Pitcher


Sandra Cochrane
Swati Dadhich-Mandal
Tripta Dixit
Sarah Farr
John Nicosia


Zeinab Abouissa
Saunders Ching
Rozzy Finn
Kenneth Karanja
Vishalakshi Krishnan


Brian Bender
Dana M. Hutchison
Norman Kuok Teong Ong
Laura T. Prestia
Jennifer P. Richards


Farnaz R. Bakhshi
Shannon Fraser
Cory Ungles Lago
Artie Carlyle Rogers
Dustin J. Shilling


Ramika Bansi
Mrinmoy Chakrabarti
Masood Ahammed Machingal
Suguna Rachakonda
Qian Zhang


Ramzi Asfour
Neil Bajpayee
Mary Beth Hughes Campbell
Chalonda Handy
Michelle Johnson


Linara Axanova
Derek Francis
Angela Garrison
Norell Hadzimichalis
Nisha Narayan


Jacob Rooksby
Amit Kumar
Brian Shedd
Kaitlyn Turo
Wendy Zimbone


Ruth Ann Epling
Vijay Iyer
N'Goundo Magassa
Jeremy Nelson
Vinay Tannan


Darya Bubman
Susan Dollinger
Karl Fultz
Kathryn Nguyen
Michael  Perham


Sabarni Chatterjee
Joy Goswami  
Mikael Herlevsen
Baidehi Mukherjee
Avni Rambhia


Natalia Agisheva
C. Kuyler Doyle
Vivek Ramakrishnan
Peggy  Rematier


James Hoberg
Tania Massa
Shoji  Takahashi
Judy Lille Tidwell
Pearlanne Zelarney


Adam Falconer
Lisa Goble
Joel Goertz
Dipanjan Nag
Orakanoke Phanraksa


Milton Lore
Sita Pappu
Alethea  Pounds
Gregory Schreiber


Frank Boschi
Celika Caldwell


What Past Winners Have Said

The Howard Bremer Scholarship, and attendance at the AUTM Annual Meeting, has absolutely helped shape my focus on technology transfer. I have applied the knowledge I gained in several ways, and I’ve been in touch with professionals I met there. I think the chance to hear and speak with seasoned experts from across the country provides a level of insight that is hard to match, and I was glad to take part. The Howard Bremer Scholarship provided an amazing opportunity to accelerate my knowledge of technology transfer and expand my network at the premier venue for the industry.
Brian Bender, 2016 Howard Bremer Scholar
As a Howard Bremer Scholar I have put more emphasis on bringing creativity, innovation and education to the forefront of our office. This includes examining different models of revenue generation, engagement of the campus community and looking at new ways to streamline services. Although technology transfer has matured since its conception, there is still a lot to learn in terms of engagement of academia and industry. Receiving the Howard Bremer Scholarship has inspired me to look at the field of technology transfer in a new light and strive to weave innovative and creative processes into helping move technologies forward.
Artie Carlyle, 2015 Howard Bremer Scholar
As a scientist by training, I have always been interested in the translation of research discoveries into real-world applications. When I was first introduced to AUTM, I was very keen to learn more about technology transfer and had decided to volunteer with AUTM to contribute to the greater good of technology commercialization. Being awarded the AUTM Howard Bremer scholarship further reinforces my passion for academic-industrial partnership and to live up to the Howard Bremer legacy of advocating and enhancing technology transfer by incorporating novel findings by AUTM into my day-to-day responsibilities and promoting AUTM volunteerism to achieve its mission and goals.
Norman Ong, 2016 Howard Bremer Scholar